zodia.gif (8152 bytes)

The zodiac (Greek, zodiacos, "circle of animals") is divided into twelve signs in Western astrology which represent phases of an uninterrupted, flowing cycle of growth. The signs of the zodiac are classified by their element, quality and polarity. The elements are fire, earth, air and water. The fire signs (Aires, Leo, Sagittarius) are inspirational, self-motivating and future oriented. The earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) are practical, conservative and often materialistic. The air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) are intellectual, person-oriented and communicative. The water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) are emotional, intuitive and attuned to subtle "vibrations."

The three qualities of signs are cardinal, fixed and mutable. Cardinal signs (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn) are initiating, restless and goal-oriented. Fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius) are concentrated, stubborn and persistent. Mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces) are adaptable and have strong mental abilities. Cardinal signs begin each season of the year. These signs initiate change and are the primal force for each season. Fixed signs consolidate and make permanent that which the cardinal signs began. The mutable signs are the signs of change and mark the termination of the old and preparation for the new.

Signs have a positive or negative polarity. Beginning with Aries, the signs alternate positive then negative. Fire and air signs are positive or self-expressive. Water and earth signs are negative or self-repressive. Positive polarity is yang and has a nature that is outgoing. Negative polarity is yin and is more withdrawn and introverted, receptive and responsive, reacting to outside influences.

To learn more about each sign review the follow areas:

Aries Libra
Taurus Scorpio
Gemini Sagittarius
Cancer Capricorn
Leo Aquarius
Virgo Pisces

Back to Learning Center Menu

Copyright 2000, Astrology3D, Inc.